African Trypanosomiasis - Trypanosoma brucei gambiense ...

African Trypanosomiasis - Trypanosoma brucei gambiense & Trypanosoma brucei rhodesiense Life Cycle

1) Tsetse fly takes a blood meal (injects metacyclic trypomastigotes)

Mammalian Stages:

2) Injected metacyclic trypomastigotes transform into bloodstream trypomastigotes, which are carried to other sites.

3) Trypomastigotes multiply by binary fission in various body fluids, e.g., blood, lymph, and spinal fluid.

4) Circulating trypomastigotes in blood during acute phase; usually undetectable in latent phase

Tsetse Fly Stages:

5) Tsetse fly takes a blood meal (bloodstream trypomastigotes are ingested)

6) Bloodstream trypomastigotes transform into procyclic trypomastigotes in the vector midgut. Procyclic tryposmatigotes multiply by binary fission.

7) Procyclic trypomastigotes leave the midgut and transform into epimastigotes.

8) Epimastigotes multiply in salivary gland. They transform into metacyclic trypomastigotes.

#African #Trypanosomiasis #Trypanosoma #LifeCycle #diagnosis #pathophysiology #infectiousdiseases #cdc #parasite #sleepingsickness
Contributed by

Dr. Gerald Diaz
Board Certified Internal Medicine Hospitalist, GrepMed Editor in Chief πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­ πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ - Sign up for an account to like, bookmark and upload images to contribute to our community platform. Follow us on IG: | Twitter:

Related content